top of page

Tennessee Golf Hall of Fame Members

E. E. "Bubber" Johnson (1919-1996)
Inducted in 2016


Eldridge E. "Bubber" Johnson of Nashville built a number of Middle Tennessee’s golf courses and was an inspiration to many young players - amateur and professional. Johnson served as a national vice president of the Professional Golfers' Association of America (PGA) and was president of the Southeastern Section of the PGA in 1961-62. Johnson and a small group of Tennessee PGA professionals were instrumental in Tennessee securing their own section in 1968.  He was involved in design and/or construction of courses and additions at Stones River, Bluegrass, Hillwood, Hillcrest, Lakewood, Swan Lake, Graymere and Temple Hills. He was the first director of golf at Disney World Resort. Over the years, Johnson had a profound personal impact on the growth of the game in Middle Tennessee

Roy D. Moore (1902 - 1983 )
Inducted in 2016


Roy D. Moore of Memphis was secretary of the Tennessee Golf Association from the early 1940s until 1974 and was president in 1951. During his tenure as a director he was responsible for the TGA starting a college scholarship program. He was an accomplished player but he is best known for promoting the game. For many years he was the unpaid golf coach and recruiter for Memphis State (now University of Memphis). Many of his college players went on to become PGA golf professionals. He was the driving force behind the Colonial Amateur Invitational, one of the nation’s biggest amateur tournaments that was played for 16 years. Roy was a founding father of the Memphis Open, now the FedEx St. Jude Classic.

Marguerite Solomon (195 -1986)
Inducted in 2016


From 1929 to 1941 there were only eight Tennessee Women’s Amateur tournaments played. During this period, Marguerite Lowenstein Solomon won the Tennessee Women’s Amateur Championship four times and was runner-up twice, Marguerite Gaut won three times and Margaret Gunther won once. Mrs. Solomon’s two seconds were to Gaut and Gunther. Mrs. Solomon is one of seven women who have won the Tennessee Women’s Amateur four times or more. She also won the Women’s Memphis City Amateur five times (1931, 1939, 1940, 1943, 1944) and the trophy is named in her honor.

bottom of page